Showing Some Bukowski Love

charles-bukowski

Charles Bukowski is one of my favorite American authors. I like his work because it explores some dark themes that many Americans have had to face. His books, like ham on rye and the post office are absolute gems for those of us in the study of the dark side of American culture and literature. Some of the poems echo the way he writes in his novels so well that I wanted to share.

In these two pieces he explores his own disillusionment with the traditions of the past, a common element in modern American literature, and he also explores addiction- something we all struggle with.

Here are the poems, also translated into Spanish. As Bukowski and his works were based largely in the chicano influenced Los Angeles, and part of being an American should mean an incorporatation the experiences of other Langauges and cultures, I think the translations are needed! Happy reading!


Charles Bukowski es uno de mis autores favoritos americanos. Me gusta su trabajo porque explora algunos temas oscuros que muchos estadounidenses han tenido que enfrentar. Sus libros, como el jamón con pan de centeno y de la oficina de correos son gemas absolutas para aquellos de nosotros en el estudio del lado oscuro de la cultura americana y la literatura. Algunos de los poemas hacen eco de la forma en que escribe en sus novelas tan bien que quería compartir.

En estas dos piezas que explora su propia desilusión con las tradiciones del pasado, un elemento común en la literatura moderna de Estados Unidos, y también explora la adicción, algo que todos luchamos.

Aquí están los poemas, también traducidos al español. Como Bukowski y sus obras se basan en gran medida en el chicano influencia de Los Angeles, y parte de ser un estadounidense debe significar un incorporatation las experiencias de otros Langauges y culturas, creo que son necesarias las traducciones! Feliz lectura!


$180 gone

lost my ass at the races
now sitting with the flu
listening to Wagner on the radio
I’ve got this small heater humming.

I’m not dead yet
yet not dead
I want to see more kneecaps under
tight nylon hose.

I’m re-grouping,
I’m dreaming up the counter-attack.

lost my ass at the races
the Sierra Madre smiling at me
lost my ass at the races
walked through a wall of defeat.

I saw a dead cat this morning
both front legs sheared off
he was lying by the garbage can
as I walked by.

this is the hardest game
defeat grows like flowers
the whores sit in chairs before their doorways
Attila the Hun sleeps in a rubber mask at night.

Wagner dies, Rimbaud quit writing, Christ spit it out.

I lost my ass at the races today
and was reminded of history
of waste and error
and of strangled dreams.

we want it too easy
and this is the hardest game.

the small heater hums
as I smoke
looking at the walls.

$180 ido

perdido a mi culo en las carreras
ahora se sienta con la gripe
escuchando a Wagner en la radio
Tengo este pequeño zumbido del calentador.

No estoy muerto todavía
todavía no ha muerto
Quiero ver más rótulas bajo
manguera de nylon apretado.

Estoy re-agrupación,
Estoy soñando con el contraataque.

perdido a mi culo en las carreras
la Sierra Madre sonriéndome
perdido a mi culo en las carreras
caminado a través de una pared de la derrota.

Vi un gato muerto esta mañana
ambas patas delanteras cortadas por
yacía en el bote de basura
mientras caminaba por.

este es el juego más difícil
derrota crece como las flores
las prostitutas se sientan en sillas delante de sus puertas
Atila el Huno duerme en una máscara de goma en la noche.

Wagner murió, Rimbaud abandonó la escritura, Cristo lo escupió.

Perdí mi culo en las carreras de hoy
y fue recordado de la historia
de los residuos y el error
y estrangulado sueños.

queremos que sea muy fácil
y este es el juego más difícil.

los pequeños zumbidos calentador
como yo fumo
mirando las paredes.


no title

all theories
like clichés
shot to hell,
all these small faces
looking up
beautiful and believing;
I wish to weep
but sorrow is
stupid.
I wish to believe
but belief is a
graveyard.
we have narrowed it down to
the butcherknife and the
mockingbird.
wish us
luck.

no hay título

todas las teorías
como clichés
tiro al infierno,
todas estas pequeñas caras
mirando hacia arriba
bello y creer
Quiero llorar
pero el dolor es
estúpido.
Quiero creer
pero la creencia es un
cementerio.
hemos reducido a
el cuchillo de carnicero y el
sinsonte.
desearnos
suerte.

*note, this post is for educational purposes only, for a class in literature editing and publishing.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Viva Tirado Live – El Chicano | mostly music

Leave a Reply

